The Bancroft-Mackerras Medal for Excellence allows the Australian Society for Parasitology to recognise outstanding contributions of its members to the Science of Parasitology. It is a medal and certificate to be presented to an Ordinary member or Fellow who, in the opinion of a selection committee appointed by the Council, has made an outstanding contribution to the science of parasitology, particularly in work published during the last 5 years. Nominations are to be called for yearly but the award need not be given every year. The Medal commemorates the contribution of the Bancroft-Mackerras dynasty to the development of the discipline of parasitology in Australia from the 1860s to 1960s. The recipient will deliver an oration at the annual conference of the Society, receive reimbursement of reasonable travel costs to the conference at which the medal is presented and will be a guest of the Society for the duration of the conference. The procedure for selection of the recipient is detailed in the Principles, By-Laws, and Guidelines for Awards, Grants, Journals, Committees and Archives are available to download as a PDF file. Diversity is an essential part of the mission of the Australian Society for Parasitology so nominations of colleagues from gender and culturally diverse backgrounds are encouraged.

Please download and complete this Bancroft-Mackerras Medal Nomination Form and email this form to the ASP Secretary.

Applications close 30th September in the calendar year preceding the award of the prize. 

Professor Una Ryan, BMM 2014, presented by Professor Robin Gasser


1982 RW Sutherst
1983 MD Rickard
1984 GF Mitchell
1987 Ian Beveridge
1989 AM Johnson
1990 IG Wright
1991 RCA Thompson
1996 DR Hennessy
1998 Marshall Lightowlers
1999 RH Andrews
2000 Robin Gasser
2006 Alex Loukas
2007 Tom Cribb
2008 Kiaran Kirk
2009 Brendan Crabb
2010 Leann Tilley
2012 Malcolm McConville
2014 Una Ryan
2016 Denise Doolan
2018 Nick Smith
2019 Rebecca Traub
2020 Katja Fischer
2021 Giel van Dooren
2022 Tania de Koning-Ward
2023 Wai-Hong Tham